House Prize Giving 2018

Fleur de Lys House made it two years in a row and have retained the House Cup; student leader’s Makeda Downes and Llewellyn Rendell Davies collected the prize from Sarah Samways (Samways). Joined by the award sponsors and school governors all the staff and students enjoyed the presentations and with a record number of rewards being issued in 2017/18. It was the closest battle for supremacy for years and ultimately only 213 points separated first and second place. A grand total of 35,509 points saw Fleur de Lys hold off a strong challenge from Adler, who amassed 35,297 points. Hinomaru were third (31,572) and Toro fourth (27,656). Fleur De Lys retained the crown due to their superb record across the year in the nineteen different inter house competitions.

Addressing the audience David Herbert, Headteacher, said: ‘Your commitment and support to each other across the year is something you should all feel very proud of. It has been a feature of the school since the introduction of the House System in 2006. Whether it’s been within the inter house sports competitions, house quiz, variety show, the subject challenge cups or even in the tug of war, your willingness to compete and have fun is what makes the system work. It seems very strange to think that many of our Year 7 students here today had not even been born the first time that this trophy was presented to then Toro Captains Mathew Huxley and Lucy Tweed!’

As well as recognising team success, individuals were also congratulated. Sam Courtice collected the Leadership Prize from Katherine Karr (Kitson and Trotman) for her brilliant work in sports leadership both at school and within the Dorset Youth Games structure. The Roger Draper Award for outstanding commitment to the House Buddy programme was collected by Kaitlin Wellman. Annalise Hussey received the Community Award from governor Peter Clifton for her incredible work supporting the Rights Respecting Bridport Community project. Jasmin Hart collected the Mayor’s Prize for her commitment to supporting Human Rights and the work towards the RRS Silver Award in school. David Herbert also made special presentations to a number of students who have passed their Edge Apprentice, Pioneer or Graduate with real distinction.

The highest house points earners in each year group were presented with prizes from Deputy Head Mike Hoffmann. The Year 7 winner was Kayleigh Marlow (434 points), the Year 8 award went to Lucy Best (484), in Year 9, Hannah Erasmus came out on top (317) points and the Year 10 winner was Daniel Martins (316). Lucy Best also received the prize as the overall individual house point winner for 2017/18. Lucy and Kayleigh were joined by Eddie Rose and Jezebel Dilke (Year 8) in receiving the Governors Platinum Award for earning over 400 house points.

The school would like to thank the following sponsors: Specsavers, Humberts, Mr and Mrs Fisher, Samways, Barry’s Coaches, Kitz UK, Westpoint Beach Appartments, Raw Media, CW Groves, Kitson and Trotman, CG Fry, Minster Joinery, Bridport Rowing Club and Roger Draper.

Posted in News.