Admissions and Catchment Area

Please view the Dorset Council Website on starting secondary school 

Applications need to be made to the Local Authority via their website.

There is the opportunity to appeal against not to offer a place.  Appeals are heard by an independent panel and their decision is binding on the Academy.  Information can be found here

Appeals are heard by an independent panel set up by the Local Authority.

Parents will be informed by Dorset County Council of the school their child has been allocated on 1st March 2021


The following primary schools feed to The Sir John Colfox School:

  • Bridport Primary School
  • Bridport, St Mary’s CE Primary School
  • Burton Bradstock CE VC School
  • Loders CE VC Primary School
  • Powerstock CE VA Primary School
  • St Catherine’s Catholic Primary School, Bridport
  • Symondsbury CE Primary School
  • Thorner’s C of E School

To look at the school catchment area in more detail click on the link below to the “dorsetforyou” website.